Beer Review – Cuvée des Jacobins Flemish Sour Ale


I first had the Cuvée des Jacobins Rouge about 2 months ago during a Sudsy Sunday drinking session with The Usual Suspects (do I really need to mention them by name?) at The Pourhouse in Westmont, NJ. This beer was recommended to me by our friendly neighborhood bartender (aka Marci) when I mentioned that I was in the mood for a Duchesse De Bourgogne. It was one of those “if you like that one, then you just HAVE to try this one” kind of moments. I really enjoyed this beer the first time around, so I figured that I may as well pick up a bottle for a proper review.

The Cuvée des Jacobins Rouge Flemish Sour Ale is brewed by Brouwerij Bockor of Bellegem, Belgium.  Here is what they have to say about this beer:

Cuvée des Jacobins Rouge is a Flemish Sour Ale, red in color with a beguiling balance of malty sweetness and acidic sharpness. It is made from spontaneously fermented and barrel-aged beer of at least 18 months in age. The beer is cooled overnight in a large, shallow metal vessel called a coolship and then fermented and aged in large oak foudres which are made in France and assembled on-site at Bockor.

And now for my second impressions of this beer…

  • Appearance: Murky red/brown color. Tan head that dissipates rapidly and leaves a thin bead of foam around the inner rim of the glass.
  • Aroma: Very prominent, sour berry aroma. Balsamic vinegar. A hint of cane sugar sweetness.
  • Taste: Lightly carbonated with soft fizzy bubbles that dissipate rapidly when they hit your tongue. Mouth puckering tartness from beginning to end. A hint of cane sugar sweetness. Very astringent finish that reminds me of a tannin rich red wine.
  • ABV: 5.5%

The Cuvée des Jacobins Rouge is a seriously tart and flavorful beer! What I really like is that it actually improves as it comes up to room temperature. The tartness mellows a bit as it warms up and allows some of that faint malt sweetness to come through. While I enjoyed drinking this beer on it’s own, it begs to be paired with food, i.e. some creamy cheese, a few slices of cured meats, or maybe even a Porterhouse steak topped with blue cheese. If you’re a fan of Flemish Sour Ales, then I highly recommend that you give this beer a try. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

18 thoughts on “Beer Review – Cuvée des Jacobins Flemish Sour Ale

  1. Oh yum! You’re speaking my language G-LO. The hubster has a flemish sour that’s getting nice and mucky in the basement. All kinds of cruddy bacterial nastiness growing on top. Should be fantastic by Christmas! :)

    • Thanks SimpleP! The Cuvee was definitely the most mouth puckering Sour that I have had so far. Such an interesting beer style. Can’t wait to try even more of them. So what’s the mucky one in the basement called?

      • Cheese is a perfect analogy. More gunk = more funk. No name yet. It’s still in the womb. We’ll see how it starts to look and taste in a few months. One of those “brew it and forget about it” beers.

      • Haha! YES its a homebrew. Sorry, I should have mentioned that part. Yeah, if you find a sour beer on the shelf with a layer of horse blanket floating on top, definitely leave it on the shelf :)

    • Mucky? Cruddy? Nastiness? I have to say that description does not sound fantastic. Of course, I have only had limited exposure to sours so maybe my inherent fear is getting the best of me.

      • Me thinks it is getting the best of you. You fear the funk. This mucky, crusty, nasty beer sounds like the Bruichladdich Octomore, Fernet Branca, or stinky bleu cheese of beer. That being said, I wanna try it!

  2. I had this beer a few weeks ago with some freshly smoked salmon, like out of the smoker 30 minutes ago fresh. Talk about a heaven in my mouth. Exceptional pairing of a great beer and wonderful food.

    • Hmmm… I would have never that this beer would go with smoked salmon. Not saying I wouldn’t try that combination, just thinking that this uber tart beer would overpower something like smoked salmon.

      • Actually, the acidity helps cut the high level of fattiness and smoke. It refreshes the palette so your next bite of salmon is just like the first bite. Sometimes heavier foods coat the mouth and the flavor experience dulls. That’s why IPAs are often recommended for spicy foods. They clean the palette so the next bite of food is just as spicy.

  3. Pingback: Beer Review – Founders Cerise « It's just the booze dancing…

  4. Pingback: Beer Review – Rodenbach Original « It's just the booze dancing…

  5. Pingback: Beer Review – Rodenbach Original « It's just the booze dancing…

  6. Pingback: Beer Review – Ichtegem’s Grand Cru « It's just the booze dancing…

Leave a Reply

