Brew Review

Beer Review – Flying Dog Road Dog Porter


The first time I saw a bottle of Flying Dog beer, I immediately thought of the poster for Fear and Loathing Las Vegas, the Terry Gilliam film that starred Johnny Depp and Benicio Del Toro, which was based on the Hunter S. Thompson novel of the same name. It turns out that the brewers behind Flying Dog and Hunter S. Thompson use the same artist for their illustrations, a British cartoonist named Ralph Steadman. Flying Dog’s Road Dog porter is their first beer with a Ralph Steadman designed label, and to call it eye catching would be an understatement. But is the beer any good? That’s what we’re here to find out.

  • Appearance: Dark brown color. Reddish tint when held up to the light. Quarter inch head that dissipates rapidly. Very little lacing.
  • Aroma: Roasted malt. Hints of brown sugar.
  • Taste: Good carbonation. Very little bitterness. Roasted malt flavor throughout. Smooth finish.

Flying Dog’s Road Dog Porter is a much kinder and gentler beer than I was expecting. Even with an ABV 0f 6.0%, this is a very easy drinking and session worthy beer. I give the Road Dog Porter a B rating, and based upon this very good first experience with Flying Dog Brewery, I’m looking forward to trying their other beers.

10 replies »

  1. The Flying Dog brewery (just outside DC) used to do a great brewery tour and tasting before Maryland ABC regulators ruined all the fun.

    Got to take a tour of the brewery and then hang out and try samples of all their brews for super cheap.

    Good times…

    Hope you enjoyed the Porter! Raging Bitch is one of my faves.

    Like

    • I did like the Porter. An easy drinking beer. Raging Bitch is on my list of beers to try.

      Speaking of brewery tours, Flying Fish is practically right around the corner from me and I have yet to take the tour. Gotta work on that! 🙂

      Like

    • I need to get the Flying Fish tour on the schedule. It’s so so close to home! Maybe they’ll have a mini Exit series tasting at the end of the tour. 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.