Brew Review

Beer Review – Cricket Hill East Coast Lager


My mother always told me, “If you can’t say something nice don’t say anything at all.”  So I don’t have much to say about Cricket Hill’s East Coast Lager

What Cricket Hill says:

“An easy drinking golden Bavarian Helles Lager with an excellent balance of crisp malt flavors and flowery hop finish. The aroma is as clean as the taste. With its gentle finish our East Coast Lager shows very well with light fare, but stands alone magnificently!”

The technical details:

  • Appearance: Great hazy amber color.  Minimal head that disappears faster than honeymoon pajamas.
  • Aroma: It smells like beer but not in a good way.  Reminds me of the “beer smell” on the day after a party at my house in college.
  • Taste: There is not much flavor and the flavors that exist are funky and off.
  • Style: Pale Lager
  • ABV: 5.2%

The review:

I don’t have much to say because there is not a lot of positive things I can say about this brew.  As a native of NJ I wanted to like this beer but I can’t.  When I got this brew arctic cold it was drinkable but as is warmed up it got funky.

The guys at Cricket Hill advertise that they attempt to make beers that are “designed as session beers that are as gentle in style as can be”.  This is a neat goal but probably one of the hardest things to accomplish in the brewed world.  With mild flavors it is easy to go from gentle to off and funky.  I wish these guys the best of luck but cannot recommend this beer.

3 replies »

  1. The Wookie was kind enough to share this find and sadly I must concur with his assessment. It seemed as if they had gotten everything right from the packaging to the promotional materials, they just didn’t spend enough time on the product. Thus, I don’t know what is worse; admitting that the Wookie is right (and further stoking his ego) or the sheer disappointment with this anticipated beverage.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.