Ayinger

Beer Review – Ayinger Celebrator Doppelbock


I am a huge fan of the merchant du vin lineup and thought I would add the Ayinger brewery to my list. To that end, I picked up a bottle of Ayinger Celebrator Doppelbock as part of mixed six. From the Merchant du Vin site:

Originally brewed at a monastery in northern Italy, “double bock” was quickly introduced by Bavarian brewers to compete with bock. It is a rich, classic Bavarian specialty lager often consumed as a celebration beer.

Tasting notes: A rich, dark elixir with cascading layers of malt complexity balanced by elegant hops. Notes of toffee, caramel, elegant dark-malt roastiness, and pure malt. Pinpoint conditioning and semi-dry finish

I found the Celebrator Doppelbock to have the following characteristics.

  • Appearance: Rich brown. No foam and good lacing.
  • Aroma: Sweet caramel and chocolate malt.
  • Taste: Very smooth, with sweet roasted malt and chocolate followed by a burnt, bitter finish.
  • ABV: 6.7%

I thought that this was a really good beer with all of the chocolate and sweet roasted malt flavor that I had hoped to find. Once again, the folks at Merchant du Vin have provided a quality import.

10 replies »

  1. Ahhhhh jinx I literally had a 1pm review planned for this one. Oh well, new perspective I am sure!!

    Like

  2. This has been one of my favorite beers for a very long time. It was one of the ones that really opened my eyes to what great beers really were back when I was in college.

    Like

    • I wish I could say that I was drinking Doppelbock in college. Sadly, I spent more time with bottom tier mass production or if I really splurged something all the way from Canada. I really like the style of beer and the Celebrator is one of the best.

      Like

  3. And you can’t beat the bighorn sheep bottle necklace. I’m waiting for Lagunitas to start blinging their bottles with molusc or microminiature three-toed sloth bottle necklaces.

    Oh, and you really can’r beat Celebrator. It’s a world classic for good reason.

    Like

    • You never cease to amaze. I would like to think you are the only one that would consider a micro miniature three-toed sloth bottle necklace bling. This makes it three for three. Either I am starting to review beer that you enjoy or you are just taking the summer off from your typically creative smack-downs.

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.