Brew Review

Beer Review – Wells Banana Bread Beer


photo courtesy of windshakesthebarley.wordpress.com

After another trip to Kress Wine’s wall of imports, I picked up a Wells Banana Bread Beer from Wells and Young. I had the Wells Bombardier and the Young’s Double Chocolate Stout, so the brand and the quality were known to me. Wells and Young is the largest private brewing company in the UK. Besides their namesake brands, they also produce the Courage and McEwan lines.

Here is what Wells and Young has to say about their Banana Bread Beer:

This unique brew combines all the traditional qualities and style of a Charles Wells beer with the subtle flavour of bananaWells Banana Bread Beer is a popular beer in the Wells and Young’s range of ales. The beer has achieved a number of accolades including winner of “Beer of the Festival” award at CAMRA’s London Drinker Festival in March 2002.

I found the Banana Bread Beer to have the following characteristics…

  • Appearance: Clear orange amber with nice foam and lacing.
  • Aroma: Sweet malt and bananas.
  • Taste: As advertised, like a liquid, malted banana bread with a nice finish.
  • ABV: 5.2%

The Wells Banana Bread was an interesting beer. You would probably want this with dessert or maybe instead of dessert. Way too sweet to have more than one, but a nice diversion from the everyday hops.

7 replies »

  1. I have had this on just one occasion. Pretty good overall, but not something I would go out of my way for. Like you said, would make for a lovely dessert.

    Like

  2. Frankly this scares me. But I try to be adventurous in all my eating/drinking endeavors. If I can find this, I’m going to give it a whirl.

    Like

  3. I was a tad confused with the praise for Bombadier until I clicked the link and saw it was their satanic mills beer you drank (which is a nice beer). Standard Bombadier by comparison is possibly the definition of average for me. Never bad, but just…ok. Drinkable but dull.

    I’m fairly sure I’ve drunk Banana bread beer a few times but I cannot remember much about it. Nice notes though – I may have to give it another glance.

    Oh and thanks to all the booze dancers who recommended hop rod rye ale – found it in a London pub a week ago and enjoyed it muchly. Unfortunately I was too far into a drinking session to give it a review that would stand up so I will have to keep an eye out to get the chance to try it again. Was a great beer, the aroma particularly knocked my socks off.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.