Booze Banter

Are You A Bourbon Master?


Are you a bourbon master? In celebration of the release of their new Double Oaked expression, our friends at Woodford Reserve have just the quiz to test your bourbon knowledge. The folks at Woodford Reserve describe this unique approach this way:

An innovative approach to twice-barreled bourbon creates the rich and colorful flavor of Woodford Reserve Double Oaked. Uniquely matured in separate, charred oak barrels – the second barrel deeply toasted before a light charring – extracts additional amounts of soft, sweet oak character.

Visit their site, take the quiz, watch the video, but most of all drink the bourbon! I’ve yet to track this one down, but once I do, I’ll let you know what I think. If you’ve found this in your favorite spirits shop, let us know what you think.

11 replies »

  1. Bourbon master? The student… has… become… the… teacher…

    Seriously, Woodford is some fine bourbon. I look forward to trying the Double Oaked. As it is, it’s a bit light for my tastes. I prefer Elijah Craig 12 or 18, Wild Turkey Kentucky Spirit, 4 Roses Single Barrel or Small Batch, or Knob Creek, or Bakers. It’s a finesse versus robustness thing. I go more for robust. Just personal choice. I have to say, after dinner at a friend’s when they pulled out a bottle of Woodford I had a big smile on my face. Good bourbon is good bourbon and it’s a heck of a lot better than, say, wine or … gasp… coffee… as an after dinner sip.

    Like

    • Very true Josh. Woodford is much more subtle than most Bourbon. That being said, I really like it. Maybe it’s the giant flask shaped bottle. Whatever the reason, I have purchased several bottles over the years and they’ve never lasted very long in the whisky cabinet. It may not be a “kick in the head” kind of Bourbon, but it is incredibly drinkable. I can’t wait to try the Double Oaked!

      Like

      • I can’t say I share you guys’ enthusiasm for Woodford. I bought a bottle once, and remember not being impressed. I’ll give it another shot at some point.

        I tried the quiz but bombed out at “how long does Woodford Reserve season their barrels” … didn’t even know what they were talking about 😛

        Like

      • I assume that by seasoning they mean the time that it takes for them to let the wood cure or age. Kinda like how you have to let fresh cut firewood rest and dry out before you can burn it. Just a guess.

        Like

    • I would love to spend more time in Kentucky touring distilleries. My sister lives in Kentucky, but is soon to move to southern CA, so my window is closing quickly!

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.